Board index » Present Evidence » Cosplay

Page 1 of 1[ 10 posts ]

Maya Fey Cosplay HelpTopic%20Title

death was fashionable

Hello! I'm planning on attending Nan Desu Kan this year, and I want to go as Maya Fey.
:maya:
Has anybody here cosplayed as her before? I'm wondering how I should make her necklace and hair.. sphere.. things... and what materials I should use for them/where I would get said materials.
Any costume-making advice at all will be appreciated, really.

Thanks!
grace
Re: Maya Fey Cosplay HelpTopic%20Title

'I need a schpoon for my schoop!'

I'd recommend using a wig for the hair, obviously...

I'm a wig stylist and I'd look for a nice wig at www.amphigory.com. Since people will be looking at your face first, the entire outfit second, the hair is something you want to focus on, so I'd splurge on the wig.

But what are your skills as to wig styling?

(ace attorney gremlin mode activated)

I've never cosplayed Maya, but this is probably how I'd do it...

For her necklace - make the beads yourself and work from there! I just found a decent tutorial about how to make light, polymer beads (if they were all completely made of clay they would become quite heavy) HERE. You might even be able to use that technique to make a magnatama. The tube beads inbetween can most likely be baught at your local art store along with the clay (look in the bead section). If you don't find anything then those can easily be made of clay as well. Use fishing line or beading wire to bead it up. (I can give you a small tutorial about jewelry making if you cannot find any online.)

If you do buy a wig, you could also probably make clay beads and a clay and attach them to the wig.