Board index » Phoenix Wright » Prosecutor's Lobby

Page 1 of 1[ 3 posts ]

Can a lawyer really do that?Topic%20Title

Why did I have ham in my pocket...?

Well now that I'm a full fledged attorney... (er of the student variety) I have become interested in ethical conflicts that exist within the Phoenix Wright game...universe. To help me practice my skills and to maybe edify a few people, I am offering to do some simple ethical analysis of what some of the characters in Phoenix Wright do.

For those of you who don't know, when I say "ethics" I don't mean whether an act is right or wrong, but rather whether it violates the complicated rules the American Bar Association has created for lawyers in America. These rules are known as ethical rules and tell a lawyer what she may or may not do. (interesting note: most of legal hypotheticals characterize an ambiguous third person as "she.")

(If people really do take me up on this offer, I foresee a lot of Evidence issues as well. An evidence issue is the one most prominent in my mind so I'll start with one of those.)

For starters I'll cover the use of as Edgeworth called it "illegal evidence" in AA:Investigation. Without giving away any spoilers in that game Edgeworth mentions that he cannot call himself a prosecutor if he uses evidence that he received from an illicit source, and if he does it will somehow be unlawful.