Board index » Phoenix Wright » Labyrinthia (PLvsGS)

Page 1 of 2[ 45 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Anyone play the Layton series just for this game?Topic%20Title

I've heard someone say they disliked Layton because of the impression he gave in the PL vs AA trailers, but was surprised to end up loving him after playing his games. So that made me curious to hear what other people think. Especially because I do think that Layton has a more serious vibe in the crossover trailers than in his own games.

If you're playing the Layton games in preparation for the crossover, what do you think? Love them, hate them? Were you surprised by them? Have they made you change your mind about anything?
Re: Anyone play the Layton series just for this game?Topic%20Title

Doing the drywall at the new McDonalds

I started playing Layton in preparation of the crossover.

I started with Professor Layton and the Curious Village, and I didn't like it. The characters were interesting but there wasn't enough dialogue that wasn't puzzle-based to keep me interested. Also the mystery was a little bland compared to other games I've played (I'm a big PC mystery adventure game fan).

However, about a week ago I stopped playing Curious Village and switched to the first chronological game, Professor Layton and the Last Specter, and I LOVE it. There's tons more cutscenes, the addition of Emmy means there's tons more dialogue, and the mystery is interesting. Best of all, the puzzles usually have some place in regards to the story. I was playing through it lightning fast until my 3ds XL broke all the sudden. But I sent it into Nintendo and they fixed it free of charge, so as soon as it arrives I intend to finish Last Specter and get to Miracle Mask, which I recently bought. I've actually decided to wait until the 3rd part of the prequels trilogy is out in america and complete it before going back to Curious Village. I'm sure by then I'll love the series enough to get through it.